Swamp Gas & Moonlit Reflections

Now hosted on Squarespace

  • AlienCG

    Email:
    AlienCG (AT) GMail.com
    AlienGC on XBox Live
  • Latest Posts

  • Categories

#2 Requires an Explanation

Posted by AlienCG on August 27, 2008

Remember way back when, I said that this is not necessarily a list of my favorite albums.  This is a list of those albums that have shaped my musical taste throughout the years.  This week’s album was given to me by Mom back in the mid-80’s and would set me on a road that would never want to detour from.  As you probably guessed, it my favorite band, but it’s not the album you would think.

#2 Pink Floyd--Meddle

#2 Pink Floyd--Meddle

No, it’s not Dark Side of the Moon.  This Meddle, a truly amazing album consisting of only six songs, including the only song on side 2, “Echoes,” their 23-minute opus.  This album sealed the deal for me and I have been a Pink Floyd fan ever since.  In case you’re wondering about the cover, it’s a close-up view of the human ear reflected in a pool of water.  Next week is the final album for this feature.

7 Responses to “#2 Requires an Explanation”

  1. Manuel said

    Echoes is such a great song….

  2. babybull40 said

    To be honest I love Pink Floyd, But haven’t heard of this album.. so I guess I’m not the die hard fan I thought I was..I may have to look this one up.. Thanks..

  3. evilesb138 said

    Not a surprise with this one.

  4. Renee said

    Thanks for explaining what the cover was. Almost looks like mini crop circles :)!

  5. churlita said

    I have mixed feelings about Pink Floyd. there’s so much of their stuff that is truly amazing, but like all bands, they’ve had their share of crap too.

  6. laura b. said

    We know how you love Pink Floyd, yet yes, this is an unexpected choice! It is pretty cool that this is the album that made you the fan you are today.

  7. dmarks said

    I still have the LP of that.

Leave a Reply

 
