Swamp Gas & Moonlit Reflections

Now hosted on Squarespace

  • AlienCG

    Email:
    AlienCG (AT) GMail.com
    AlienGC on XBox Live
  • Latest Posts

  • Categories

Communication Breakdown, Part 2

Posted by AlienCG on September 8, 2008

This is part two of my three-part series.  This time around I am discussing the problem of spelling and grammar due to the use of chat room lingo.

Unwritten Rules

I visit many web sites during the course of a day, but lately I have found myself a bit more discouraged. It seems that more people are writing essays, commentaries and articles. Now, I am not referring to typos or use of slang terms, those can be found everywhere including my own site, but the blatant misspelling of the same words over and over in a single composition. There are resources available all over the Internet to assist with spelling and grammar, just look at dictionary.com. I have visited many sites where the author of a composition is complaining because his writing does not get noticed by the professionals, but within the article are several misspellings, words used out of context and horrific grammar. It didn’t take long to figure out why this self-proclaimed Shakespeare didn’t have publishers knocking down his door. Many people feel that they need to post often on their site, this means they have to rush through an article without thinking. Good writing takes time. It’s either that or people are just too lazy to check spelling and grammar and don’t want anybody they know to proofread it. This is only one part of the problem; the other has just popped up in the past few years.

There are only two places where chat room lingo are acceptable, chat rooms and instant messaging (IM). I remember a couple news stories in the past year and a half or so that were about high school kids failing their final reports because they used chat room lingo instead of proper English. A final school report is supposed to be a professional document that shows that students have learned proper spelling and grammar. Its fine to use this lingo for notes, drafts and anything else that will not be turned in, but the final product must be written as professionally as possible. Not everybody knows the language of the chat room. I have never seen an article in the newspaper or any magazine that uses chat room lingo. That is because it is not a recognized form of language in the real world and should be kept where it belongs.

The written word is becoming a casualty of the Internet age. More people send e-cards and e-mail greetings to wish one another a happy holiday, be it birthday, Christmas, Easter, etc. rather than sitting down and writing out cards or letters by hand. Writing still has and advantage over computer text. Computer text is sterile and emotionless; miscommunication is an undesired side-effect. The written word has a life of its own, it shows the receiver that care was given to this letter, and an effort was made. I tend to believe that thoughts are better remembered when they are written by hand. Almost every article on this site are written in a black composition book before they are ever seen on the computer monitor. Most of the time the finished article looks very little like the written text, but the meaning always remains the same. There is certain elegance to the written word, one that cannot be copied on any computer, no matter which fonts are used.

Writing by hand is a gift that is too important to just throw away. It’s easier to carry a pen and notebook than it is a computer. Looking at one’s own handwriting can offer inspiration and is unique to each person. I encourage letter writing and writing out greeting cards, it shows people how much I really do care. Chat room lingo is meant for chat room and IM, not for term papers, research assignments or anything else that will reach a broad audience. Grammar skills are very important and necessary for communication, keep those sharp.

Next Monday I will be posting the last part of the series which deals with my biggest pet peeve.  You won’t want to miss it.

4 Responses to “Communication Breakdown, Part 2”

  1. dmarks said

    I sometimes feel old fashioned for spelling out the word “you” using more than what is often just one letter.

  2. churlita said

    My girls have a really hard time reading cursive handwriting. I think that’s weird.

  3. babybull40 said

    When I use to publish some poetry on this website I use to check and double check my grammar and spelling.. it offered a spellcheck just in case of the need.. I find it hard to read the computer these days and then changing to reading a newspaper which has actual printed words.. it may not be the same thing to some.. I find letter writing carries more emotion as you said and you reach the desired effect with the person you are communicating with.. I use to write by hand all the time and now with the computer age it seems to have gotten away from me.. I need to practice more with hand written then typing on the computer.. Excellent series.. You made some very valid points…

  4. Tara said

    I don’t mind an e-card or two, but I agree I like hand-written cards better. It shows effort. One time while at the store around Easter, I picked up a card for my friend and sent it to her. A day later I got a card from her. Turns out we must’ve both been thinking about each other at the same time and wanted to buy greeting cards. It was awesome!

Leave a Reply

 
