Swamp Gas & Moonlit Reflections

Now hosted on Squarespace

  • AlienCG

    Email:
    AlienCG (AT) GMail.com
    AlienGC on XBox Live
  • Latest Posts

  • Categories

A Bomb of a Post

Posted by AlienCG on September 14, 2008

This week’s Planet Flashback is a flashback in itself.  It’s a story I related from way back in my McDonald’s working days.  I like this story.

January 22, 2007
10:03 PM
Not a Buh…a Bomb
742 Evergreen Terrace

I notice a lot of people have been bringing up past events, both funny and not-so-funny. I was working on a sort of boring, but necessary job at work and I remembered this story from years past.

May 1992. I was working at McDonald’s at the time and was scheduled to work the day after my senior prom. I had a good time and wasn’t looking forward to working, but hey, I was young and I needed the money. I walked into the place to find the regional manager and the owner there and three cops looking around in the back area. I asked what the cops were looking for and was told that somebody called in a bomb threat. How nice. My first question was, inevitably, why were we still in the building? The owner said that he felt it was only a hoax and there was no reason to panic everybody. I see things a bit differently. I said that I would be outside until I got an all clear, since the last thing I really wanted was to get blown up in a McDonald’s uniform. I was told by the owner that if I left the building I would get fired (if I were to stay in the building I would get fired too…straight up in the air). I told him that if he fired me I would take my story to all three local networks. The cops came up and gave the all clear before I could actually leave.

After the incident was over and the owner and regional manager left, the store manager called me into the office. She told me that the owner was not happy with what I had said to him. I told her that I felt I was in the right. She asked me if I would have really carried through on my “threat”. I simply told her that he was lucky he didn’t call my bluff.

I hope you enjoyed it.

So there you have it, have a good Sunday.

3 Responses to “A Bomb of a Post”

  1. babybull40 said

    Okay so your safety wasn’t a big priority.. that sucks when your boss is being a complete ass.. How long did you end up working there for? I think I would’ve just simply left…

  2. churlita said

    Wow. I can’t imagine that would happen now. I would have done the same thing you did.

  3. evilesb138 said

    I remember this story a few times over now. How very corporate of them. Good idea not getting blown up in a McDonald’s uniform.

Leave a Reply

 
