Swamp Gas & Moonlit Reflections

Now hosted on Squarespace

  • AlienCG

    Email:
    AlienCG (AT) GMail.com
    AlienGC on XBox Live
  • Latest Posts

  • Categories

Google Did it Again

Posted by AlienCG on September 29, 2008

Before I get on to the main tech subject for this week, I have ended up in…drumroll please…Michigan.  I will probably end up in Mexico next week, but for now here I am.  It was a long, five hour drive, but we got here (I’m here with the software guy).  Oh, and I’m still waiting for Laura B. to give me the Trivial Tuesday category for this week.  Now, on to the Tech Monday post.

September 2, 2008 was a big day for the Internet.  This was the day that Google introduced us to Chrome, a new, faster browser.  I downloaded that day and have been using it since.  Like Firefox, Chrome has tabbed browsing, but Chrome starts faster and uses less resources.  It also has the “New Tab” screen with the most frequently visited sites and your bookmarks in a sidebar.  Most of all, Chrome is an improvement because of the dual purpose, address and search bar and no bottom status bar both of which increase the overall amount of Internet real estate.  The only real downside at the moment is that it is not supported by all of the major plug-ins, like the Java console.  All in all, I like it and highly recommend it.  It’s worth every penny of the FREE price.

Download Google Chrome

6 Responses to “Google Did it Again”

  1. babybull40 said

    If it’s not supported by Java then what is the alternative? I use the Java plug ins for games and such.. so unless they improve it even more for users of Java.. I won’t be downloading it any time soon.. Thanks for the info.. Good to know there are other faster browsers out there..

  2. Manuel said

    I am intrigued, but I will wait until all the plug ins support it. That is necessary.

  3. dmarks said

    Chrome seems sluggish to me. And if you can find a key or configuration to get it out of the damn tab mode, please let me know. I hate tabs in browsers.

    I happen to be using it now.

  4. dmarks said

    By the way, is there any way to kill the Snap popups on your site? I went to click MiniJonB or Manuel’s links to the right, but the Snap thing got in the way and I just could not go to the pages. It does that a lot, with everyone else’s pages too (the problem where it blocks what you want to click).

  5. churlita said

    I’m still using Firefox. It got updated and is faster again.

  6. laura b. said

    Sorry, Alien! I forgot I was supposed to be choosing a category! If it isn’t too late in the game, give me something about snack foods, please.

Leave a Reply

 
