Swamp Gas & Moonlit Reflections

Now hosted on Squarespace

  • AlienCG

    Email:
    AlienCG (AT) GMail.com
    AlienGC on XBox Live
  • Latest Posts

  • Categories

Down to #3

Posted by AlienCG on November 19, 2008

This week’s game is the reason why I really got back into video games.  It is also the reason why I have a Playstation 2.  This is the game that brought the debate of video game violence into the mainstream.  Of course, the game is Grand Theft Auto 3.

The first time I played GTA3 was at Evil-E’s many years back.  It was fun and there was nothing like it out there at the time.  It’s a big, open world where missions do not have to be completed in order to finish the game.  This game was truly revelutionary.  I went out about a week later with all of my older gaming stuff, consoles, controllers and games to trade in to help with the cost of the PS2 and GTA3.

Grand Theft Auto 3 takes place in the fictional Liberty City which is modeled, of course, after New York City.  Your character is freed from a prison bus after a successful mafia plot to free the don.  You start off doing odd jobs for lower level bosses and work your way up in the organization.  Along the way, other people want you to do jobs for them, too.  Steal cars, collect weapons and evade the cops to work your way up to the top of the world of organized crime.

Of course, I would be remiss if I didn’t say that this game is not for kids.  It does involve mature themes and adult language.  Don’t get me wrong, this game would still be good without the violence and blood and gore, but it is included because it fits with the storyline.  If you’re old enough and have a PS2/3, check out this game.

4 Responses to “Down to #3”

  1. babybull40 said

    I rememebr this game very well.. I think Computer Boy had this one and played it alot.. Until he discovered online role playing games..

  2. churlita said

    I have one of the later ones on XBox360. I haven’t played it a lot, but I’ve been thinking about getting into it this weekend if I stay home like I want to.

  3. churlita said

    I have one of the later ones on XBox360. I haven’t played it a lot, but I’ve been thinking about getting into it this weekend if I stay home like I want to.

  4. laura b. said

    GTA has become one of those phenomenons that even non-gamers have heard about. Can’t wait to see your top 2!

Leave a Reply

 
