Swamp Gas & Moonlit Reflections

Now hosted on Squarespace

  • AlienCG

    Email:
    AlienCG (AT) GMail.com
    AlienGC on XBox Live
  • Latest Posts

  • Categories

Claustrophobic Rantings

Posted by AlienCG on December 2, 2008

Hi.  I finally made it into town around 8:00pm CST, but it wasn’t as fun as you might be thinking.  First off, I flew into Minneapolis, MN airport from Cleveland, OH via Philadelphia, PA (yeah, Philly is on the way).  The flight to Philadelphia left on time, but because of a big ol’ gov’ners conference hosted by the president-elect, we were forced to stay in the air for about 15 extra minutes.  Not good when your next flight less than an hour from taking off already.  I did make my next flight and it ended up taking off about 30 minutes late.  Since when does “there are only a few planes ahead of us,” mean 9 planes?  That sounds like a lot to me.  On top of that, the flight was 3 hours long and I was all the way in the back of the plane.  There is one thing you need to know, I get antsy when I’m sitting too long and it gets worse when people are standing next to me while I’m sitting in a very uncomfortable position that resembles something between a sardine can and medieval torture device (everybody had to use the bathroom on this flight).  Finally, the plane lands in Minneapolis (what, no protesters to shut down the airport until Al Franken is declared the winner?) and I can go get my bags and rental car and get on my way.

I get to the rental car counter, filled out all of the paperwork, got my receipt, went outside and waited 20 minutes for a shuttle to arrive, got to the lot and lo and behold, there it sat.  I was granted a freakin’ minivan.  A Dodge Grand Caravan.  Now, I’m no car expert, and feel free to correct me if I am, in fact, wrong.  I reserved a midsize car, not a minivan.  A minivan is not a midsize car.  Am I right?  Not only is it a minivan, it’s a Dodge, a Chrysler product.  I don’t know, nor do I care, how any of you really feel about Chrysler products.  I, personally, do not like them, but that’s a rant for a different time.

Finally I am able to get on the road and head for Windom, which according to the all-knowing Google is about a 3 hour drive (quit humming the Gilligan’s Island theme) no matter which way I went.  I decided to take the more direct route which is 50 miles less than the highway route.  I had to deal with the wonderful Minneapolis/St. Paul rush hour traffic fiasco which very much resembles the Cleveland rush hour fiasco.  The actual speed fluctuated between 30 in one small town to 65, but if you used the other drivers to gauge it then it went from get-out-and-push up to light-is-traveling-too-slowly.  It was about a 3 hour drive, a 3 hour drive.  Now I get to go to sleep, train a couple small groups of people and drive the same route in reverse tomorrow (opposite direction, not in reverse gear).  Maybe I’ll drive home.

4 Responses to “Claustrophobic Rantings”

  1. babybull40 said

    Mini-vans are large size vehicles.. not mid-size.. Does your company reimburse you for the gas you buy?

    Have a safe trip even in all that slow traffic..

  2. AlienCG said

    I have company credit card for my trips. I use that for gas.

  3. churlita said

    Would you drive the mini-van back to Ohio? Maybe a long flight would be better.

  4. laura b. said

    I don’t travel, yet you still made me feel your pain. Sure, it was rough, but look at the beautiful writing which has emerged. A beautiful butterfly from this chrysalis of pain. :-p

Leave a Reply

 
