Swamp Gas & Moonlit Reflections

Now hosted on Squarespace

  • AlienCG

    Email:
    AlienCG (AT) GMail.com
    AlienGC on XBox Live
  • Latest Posts

  • Categories

The Unemployment Chronicle

Posted by AlienCG on January 12, 2009

I’ve been officially unemployed for a month.  This is the second time in my life that I have been laid off from work (two different companies).  It seems that no matter how nice the company is or sorry they really are to let me go, it still leaves me with a feeling of worthlessness.  Yes, I have undertones of feeling worthless in the eyes of the working world.  This is especially tough right now because it’s winter, so I don’t have my garden to work on and it’s tough to take a leisurely stroll with 8 inches of snow and ice on the ground.  It’s also tough because I traveled for work, now I’m at home all day…everyday.  Don’t get me wrong, I love my house, but it would be nice to get out of town, see some new sights and interact with new people.  I’m trying to stick to a routine of waking up early so that it won’t be much of a shock to the system when I do go back to work (no matter where that is).  So, that’s all I have to say, have a good evening.

6 Responses to “The Unemployment Chronicle”

  1. laura b. said

    I think chronicling this time is a good idea. Hopefully, it will be a short lived chronicle.

  2. Tara said

    My trust was rattled at work lately when I came back from vacation and found out a lady who had worked there for 8 years was laid off. LB is right, chronicling this time in your life is a good idea and pretty healthy. You have an outlet.

  3. dmarks said

    Don’t I know it….

  4. churlita said

    Of course, the big drag is that you have time but no money. If you had money, you could travel and do other things to pass the time. I hope it is short lived as well.

  5. Manuel said

    Sorry to hear you are going through this. One thing I will not say is everthing happens for a reason because people have been telling us that and you know what, it doesn’t help.

  6. k_sra said

    Gah, it is hard. I was de-employed in January a few years back. Something about being dumped unceremoniously into the snow in Cleveland Winter is hard on the ego. You are not alone and of course, you are not worthless. Hope you get those sunny, travelling days back real soon! hang in there!

Leave a Reply

 
