Swamp Gas & Moonlit Reflections

Now hosted on Squarespace

  • AlienCG

    Email:
    AlienCG (AT) GMail.com
    AlienGC on XBox Live
  • Latest Posts

  • Categories

And it Continues

Posted by AlienCG on January 30, 2009

I had to go shopping for some foodstuffs today, so it was off to the palace of savings and annoyance, Marc’s.  While it may be difficult to navigate at times, the money one can save in the one grocery store city makes the trip worth it.  Today was Sven and Adolf’s Language lessons right in front of the dairy case (hey, Sven, what’s Swedish for “MOVE YOUR ASS!!!”).  Eventually, I ran the gauntlet and made it out of there alive.  I headed home on the highway to make the drive a little easier and that’s when it happened.  My car started shaking like crazy.  I emptied the groceries and ran out to find somebody to look at my car.

My first stop was my regular mechanic, but they don’t do tire balancing and rotations, but they recommended a place.  I got there, but they were too busy to even look at my car.  I then went to the place where I used to always get tires, but they had a new name, but I figured since the building was equipped, they had to still do tires.  No such luck.  They recommended another place (for those keeping score, this is #4).  I got this place, not too far from home and managed to have my car looked at.  I figured a quick balance or rotation and I would be on my way.  Did I mention I have been having a bad day?  For the past month and half?  How about two new tires?  Yes, but that’s not all.  How about brake pads?  Yup, but wait, there’s more.  Rotors?  You know it.  I am getting the brakes done on Monday, the tires, I don’t know yet, but they’ll have to get done soon.  So there you have it.  Maybe one of these days I’ll have some good news to report.

5 Responses to “And it Continues”

  1. Tara said

    It’s almost like cars know when you’re having bad times but they don’t care and start breaking down. I’m sorry to hear about being sent to so many places just to get your car looked at, and really about the burden of having to get your car checked out. I always dream that they’re going to tell me that everything is under warranty and all the work is free.

  2. laura b. said

    There is nothing that throws me into despair quite like car troubles.
    Hopefully, this will complete your run of not-such-good luck.

  3. NoRegrets said

    Oh, I hope you can trust this place. Because some places will find things wrong that don’t exist. The shaking would have been the tires, not brakes.

    • AlienCG said

      I took my car up to MY mechanic this morning and he verified that my brakes were, in fact, worn down. So I got that taken care of as well as the slightly overdue oil change. He said he could do the tires, too, which is good since I trust my regular mechanic more than this other place.

  4. churlita said

    That sucks. I had to replace all those same things last Spring and Summer. The only good thing about it, was that it drives so much better in the ice and snow this Winter.

Leave a Reply

 
