Swamp Gas & Moonlit Reflections

Now hosted on Squarespace

  • AlienCG

    Email:
    AlienCG (AT) GMail.com
    AlienGC on XBox Live
  • Latest Posts

  • Categories

Why is it…?

Posted by AlienCG on March 3, 2009

I got laid off in mid-December, I own a house and have mortgage payments and, of course, my usual utility bills.  I’m not threatened with foreclosure, I don’t have credit card debt and bill collectors aren’t calling me.  My bills get paid on time and I am still able to eat, but I would still like a little something to allow me to be a bit more comfortable in these trying time.  Congress passes bills to give money to companies, banks and individuals, but the only ones that get anything out of these bill are those people that made bad decisions, behaved badly or knowingly collapsed our economy.  What do us honest, hard-working, unemployed people get?  NOT A THING!  I don’t even get the offer of help because in the eyes of the government, my responsible attitude toward my finances means that I don’t need help.  I’d probably be in better shape if I didn’t pay my mortgage or other bills, then I would get all the help I need.

Sorry, I just had to rant.

3 Responses to “Why is it…?”

  1. churlita said

    I’m not sure who’s getting the money, but it’s definitely not me either. I don’t own a house, so I don’t have a mortgage but I pay all my bills too.

  2. laura b. said

    The kind of help those people are getting comes out of a situation you wouldn’t want to be in. Feel great about being a fine, upstanding, and responsible citizen. Isn’t that its own reward? 🙂

  3. Manuel said

    Man, I couldn’t agree with you more. We have a 5 year adjustable that is up June of 2010. I have called to lock a rate in, but they have told me they really can’t help me right now because I have never missed a payment and I seem to be paying the mortgage comfortably. I bet if I missed a few payments, they would try to “help” me out.

Leave a Reply

 
