Swamp Gas & Moonlit Reflections

Now hosted on Squarespace

  • AlienCG

    Email:
    AlienCG (AT) GMail.com
    AlienGC on XBox Live
  • Latest Posts

  • Categories

Time for a Beginning

Posted by AlienCG on March 5, 2009

I’ve been using the word, END as a theme this week and I think it’s time to turn it around.  Watching the markets fall this week tells me that it’s time for a revolution.  Not a violent, bloody type where we overthrow leadership, but a revolution in thought.  It’s time to try our damnedest to be optimistic in these turbulent times.  We need to turn off the news, quit reading the newspaper (except for the comics and crossword) and try to turn our attitude around as a country.  I admit, I’m guilty of being a pessimist, but I am willing to change my attitude if everybody else is, too.

I propose a Week of Optimism throughout our blogging community.  Maybe it will spread out to other blogs and into the real world.  Feel free to start now, but I’d like to make the official start Saturday with the word of the week, which is CHANGE.  We need something different because whatever is going on now isn’t working.  I don’t think it’s all that difficult.  Who’s with me?

I will reveal the answers to Trivial Tuesday tomorrow.

5 Responses to “Time for a Beginning”

  1. churlita said

    I like to think of myself as being realistically optimistic. I don’t walk around telling myself everything’s fine when it’s not, but I try to take the good out of every situation and fix what isn’t positive. I’m not quite sure how to fix this economic crisis, though.

  2. AlienCG said

    This isn’t about fixing the economic crisis with a firm, all-inclusive solution, but simply removing pessimism from our lives for a week and maybe it’ll catch on with others.

  3. laura b. said

    I am always, always willing to be optimistic. I think even in bad times there is no particular virtue in constantly anticipating the worst.

  4. Manuel said

    I with you! Lord knows, we could use it.

  5. Tara said

    Definitely with you on the optimism thing!

Leave a Reply

 
