Swamp Gas & Moonlit Reflections

Now hosted on Squarespace

  • AlienCG

    Email:
    AlienCG (AT) GMail.com
    AlienGC on XBox Live
  • Latest Posts

  • Categories

Cooking with the Alien

Posted by AlienCG on March 20, 2009

I decided to make dinner for my parents today, and since it is Lent, I made a very special seafood dish.  It’s something I have never made before, but have always enjoyed eating in restaurants.  I’m going to build the suspense a little bit while I introduce you to the backup players in this culinary adventure.

First we have the hash brown potatoes, which I make in two stages.  First, I either slice, dice or shred the potatoes in the morning or the night before (if they are for breakfast).  This makes for a crispier consistency after they’ve been fried.  For best results, use medium-high heat.

I mentioned this vegetable side a while ago, but I never did get a picture.  So, here it is, my grilled zuchini.  Very simple recipe here, cut the zuchini into pieces, add any desired spices (I used Mrs. Dash–Table Blend) and extra virgin olive oil.  Throw them on the grill until you get those really good grill marks on all sides (the skin will get dark and wrinkly).  I grilled these early and put them in a 300° oven until it was time to eat.

OK, now I suppose I will show you the pièce de résistance of my lenten feast.

Any idea what those can be?  If you said crab cakes, give yourself a cookie.  Yes, I made crab cakes for mom and dad for dinner.  This was the first time I attempted them and they did come out perfectly if I do say so myself.  Another simple recipe that puts the crab at the forefront.  Most of the recipes I looked at were filled with so many spices and other ingredients that the crab would play second fiddle.  I made mine along the lines of Ruby Tuesday’s.  Crab, Saltines, parsley, 1 egg and a little paprika and garlic powder.  I fried them in my cast iron skillet and put them in the oven until it was time to eat.

Everything came together beautifully and my dinner went over well.  I enjoy cooking (and eating) and I am always wanting to experiment with new recipes.  I still have one crab cake left, but not for long.  Thanks for stopping by and please, wipe up your drool before you leave.

3 Responses to “Cooking with the Alien”

  1. laura b. said

    Mmmm, totally called it on the drool. That all looks most delicious. I’m glad you guys had a nice Lenten dinner together. I bet that last leftover crab cake was the best…

  2. Tara said

    Wow, what an awesome looking meal! I love grilling up veggies until they’ve got that crispy, black skin on them. I marinate them in Italian dressing first. Good stuff.

  3. churlita said

    Yum. And it all looks pretty healthy too…Okay, maybe not the potatoes, but who can turn down fried potatoes?

Leave a Reply

 
