Swamp Gas & Moonlit Reflections

Now hosted on Squarespace

  • AlienCG

    Email:
    AlienCG (AT) GMail.com
    AlienGC on XBox Live
  • Latest Posts

  • Categories

The Smell of Freedom, One Year Later

Posted by AlienCG on March 28, 2009

It’s been one year since I last smoked a cigarette and I haven’t looked back since.  Originally, I was only quitting for a couple days until congestion in my chest cleared up that came about because of the flu.  I was about to light one up for the first time after three days when I stopped myself.  I just went an entire weekend without a cigarette, my chest was cleared up, I was feeling better.  No, that’s not what really got me to quit, it was a challenge.  Now, after three days, I wanted to see how long I could go without one.  Well, I haven’t cheated and I haven’t succumbed to the few times I was tempted.  I did not use drugs, patches or gum to quit, it was all pure will power.  Five years ago, I would have laughed at anyone who told me I would quit, let alone cold turkey.  Of course, I wouldn’t be celebrating this anniversary if never would have started in the first place.  My house smells better, I smell better and I feel free.  I just saw a sign at a gas station advertising a pack of Marlboro for $5.31.  I am saving some good money.  Have a good weekend.

5 Responses to “The Smell of Freedom, One Year Later”

  1. Manuel said

    That is awesome man! Congrats!

  2. laura b. said

    Couldn’t be prouder, Alien. You rule.

  3. NoRegrets said

    Wonderful example of one step at a time. Great for you!

  4. abroad said

    Hey congrats! It’s amazing how much better it feels not to smoke. Sometimes I think about it and miss it a little, but mostly all I have to do to get over it is take a deep breath.

  5. churlita said

    Good for you. How do you feel?

Leave a Reply

 
