Swamp Gas & Moonlit Reflections

Now hosted on Squarespace

  • AlienCG

    Email:
    AlienCG (AT) GMail.com
    AlienGC on XBox Live
  • Latest Posts

  • Categories

The Twitter Experiment

Posted by AlienCG on April 16, 2009

I’ve been using Twitter for a little while now and I am already bored with it.  I have 5 followers and I am following those same 5 people.  I mean no offense to my faithful followers, but I can’t understand why anybody would want to follow me.  I’m not being self-deprecating as I normally would be, I am asking a legitimate question.  I don’t offer anything of any use and I don’t think I’m all that entertaining.  Personally, the life and thoughts of an unemployed technician don’t really compel me to read.

The one thing I could see coming about is MySpace syndrome.  This is, he with the most friends wins.  To me, this is the biggest problem with the social networking sites altogether.  Most of the real people that I have as friends on MySpace (as opposed to bands and TV shows) I know in some capacity or another, I don’t just friend people to up my numbers and make myself look more impressive.  This is where Twitter is headed.  I don’t want people to follow me simply to pad their numbers and expect me to follow them.  I’m trying Twitter to see what the big deal is and so far, I am not impressed.

I’ll continue to use it, and see if I can find a use for it, but 140 characters is not enough for me.  This post would be plenty off tweets already.  I’m not telling anybody to follow me or quit following me, I just want to know why people follow me.  Also, if you decide to follow Ashton K., will he follow you?  Or President Obama?  That’s all I have to say about Twitter for this week.  Have a good evening.

4 Responses to “The Twitter Experiment”

  1. laura b. said

    Why do I follow you? Well, as the point of Twitter is to both write and read. Since I am there writing (supposedly) I prefer to follow people I know and not just latch on to strangers who happen to post a lot. You are interesting to me because I read your blog. So reading your Twitter seems logical. And THAT is why I am your follower.

  2. Manuel said

    You should follow your way over to Facebook. You have to break eventually…..

    • AlienCG said

      I will be the last person on the planet to have a Facebook account.

      My biggest reason is not the real name requirement, but that whole ownership clause in the ToS. If I post photos or writing, I do not want to automatically give Facebook right to that stuff. I also want to be able to cancel my account at any time. Facebook reserves the right to keep all of your information for an unlimited amount of time. They also attempted to say they can use your photos in any way they see fit, but that didn’t go over well.

  3. I did not know that about Facebook. I guess that’s what makes the blogosphere better, huh? It does take less time though. To setup and get ‘updated’. I’m still building my blogger dashboard and even igoogle, but I don’t have a whole lot of time to do that…

    Thanks for the review of Twitter. I’d never been interested in it before but now I know I will not do it.

Leave a Reply

 
