Swamp Gas & Moonlit Reflections

Now hosted on Squarespace

  • AlienCG

    Email:
    AlienCG (AT) GMail.com
    AlienGC on XBox Live
  • Latest Posts

  • Categories

Do You Smell That?

Posted by AlienCG on April 21, 2009

OK, everybody loves a good underdog story and the Susan Boyle thing is just that story, right?  Right?  Well, I’m watching the video as I type this up and something doesn’t seem right to me from the very beginning.  First off, she says she’s never been given a chance to audition before, yet when she walks out on stage she does so with professional confidence.  If this is her first time on stage, she certainly didn’t show it, I would think she would be a little more timid.  She starts off sort of stiff, but the way gestures while she sings shows through too much.  Now that she’s done singing and before the music ends, she begin walking off the stage and the judges have to call her back.  I guess my suspicion gland is just set on oversensitive, but this whole thing reeks of day old cheese and conspiracy.  I don’t believe that everything out there is conspiracy, but this one just has too much going against it.  I won’t post the video here, but just type her name into Google and click on the first video link.  What do you think?  Is this a set-up?  Am I wrong for sensing it as such?

*****EDIT*****

OK, I was just reading some of an interview with her and here’s what’s in there:

  1. She’s never been kissed and has never had a boyfriend.
  2. She lives alone with her cat.
  3. She’s aspired to be a singer since she’s 5 years old but never got the chance.
  4. Her mother died, but always encouraged her to audition for that show.
  5. Society is too quick to judge on appearances.

Oh, brother, give me a break.  This sounds like a script to a freakin’ Disney movie now.  I’m sorry if I sound cynical, but all of this together sounds too contrived.  Am I jumping to conclusions a little too quickly?

8 Responses to “Do You Smell That?”

  1. babybull40 said

    She does seem a little too comfortable on stage.. I also read some very nasty things via some blogger wannabe journalist about Susan Boyle.. some may say this is her dream come true.. but some others may say its all contrived by and for the media.. I did watch the whole 7 min plus video of her audtion and she certainly does have somethng there worth listening to…I would always vote for the underdog..

  2. k_sra said

    Yes. Yes you are jumping to conclusions. Not everything amazing is ‘too good to be true.’ I believed her sassiness with the judges because it WASN’T polished. She was out of her depth, but trying to be a good sport. Her gestures during the song were over-used (like an amateur) and a coached individual would have acknowledged the applause and STAYED on the stage. Her walking off was definitely a sign of an amateur. Not everybody that can sing has had the chance to sing in front of people. Is she a rare find? Hell yes. Which is why Britain’s Got Talent will wring her for every ounce of good publicity she can give. But does that mean she was always a fake? No, definitely not. Take my word for it, she is exactly what she appears to be.

  3. laura b. said

    I don’t know. I have also heard some things that have lead me to believe this is not quite as it appears. I am not a jaded person, I’m really not, but I do believe that there is more to this than we’ve seen so far.

  4. AlienCG said

    If the story she is telling is completely true, then good for her. I just think she should mention her performance of “Cry Me a River” on a 1999 charity CD. Granted, there are only 1000 copies of this CD out there, but a Scottish newspaper dug it up. This means that she has had the opportunity to audition as a singer before.

  5. churlita said

    I haven’t seen it and can’t watch it at work. I think a lot of these “reality” shows and contests are scripted and faked up for drama’s sake though.

  6. Manuel said

    I am 50/50 on it. You know a movie is coming though…

  7. k_sra said

    Read today that her youtube clip is the most watched in history and that the papparazzi are stalking her house. Not sure I can consider her a lucky girl anymore. 😛

    I stand by my gut reaction to her, she’s the real deal (1,000 copies of a charity CD notwithstanding) and she’s about to get run over by the world’s need for gossip and drama.

  8. Tara said

    I agree with Ksra, that not everything amazing is ‘too good to be true.’

    Maybe she wasn’t trying to get sympathy about her lifestyle, maybe she was just stating a fact. I could state a few of the same things she has, but I’m not trying to get sympathy. She looks like she’s got some sass to her and that just comes naturally to some people.

    And she’s right, we as a society judge too quickly on appearance. People were doubting her prematurely without listening to her.

Leave a Reply

 
