Swamp Gas & Moonlit Reflections

Now hosted on Squarespace

  • AlienCG

    Email:
    AlienCG (AT) GMail.com
    AlienGC on XBox Live
  • Latest Posts

  • Categories

Gardening With the Alien, Week #9

Posted by AlienCG on May 11, 2009

Now it’s time for a change of scenery and the kickoff to Act Like a Kid Week #2.  This time around, I have a kiddie pool and I’ve been playing in the dirt.  Here is the herb garden, this time around in a portable setting so that it doesn’t take up much room in the main garden.

It’s just some fill dirt mixed with compost, sand and peat moss in a perforated kiddie pool lined with weed fabric.  I hope this works out well so that I can do this every year, I like the concept.

Because the temperatures are threatening to dip down into frost territory this week, I have not planted anything in the main garden yet.  But here are the happy plants outside in the driveway soaking up the sun.

I will be planting everything soon, which means I will be playing in the dirt again soon enough.  Hopefully next week I will be able to show off the newly planted garden.  Have a good day and thanks for looking at my garden.

4 Responses to “Gardening With the Alien, Week #9”

  1. laura b. said

    I think the kiddie pool herb garden is a great idea and I hope it works well.
    The little plants all look very happy and healthy as they await their new home.

  2. churlita said

    I’m so jealous. I wish I could play in the dirt too. I love the kiddie pool herb garden idea. Genius.

  3. Tara said

    Great idea using the kiddie pool! I’m trying to grow green beans, but it is taking some time. However, whenever I grow cat grass, that stuff springs up real well.

  4. NoRegrets said

    I heard about the kiddie pool idea! Looks great.

Leave a Reply

 
