Swamp Gas & Moonlit Reflections

Now hosted on Squarespace

  • AlienCG

    Email:
    AlienCG (AT) GMail.com
    AlienGC on XBox Live
  • Latest Posts

  • Categories

Trivial Tuesday

Posted by AlienCG on June 2, 2009

This week’s trivia is a guerssing game with a technological theme to it.  This week we have a computer to look at, but I’m not listing the brand name.  I’m looking for the list price of this powerful machine as it was listed.  Here are the specs:

New For 1989

20MHz Intel 80386 Microprocessor

VGA Graphics

2MB RAM (Expandable to 16MB)

Cache Memory

Will operate MS-DOS 3.3, MS OS/2, SCO XENIX 386 and network operating software.

Monitor and mouse not included.

Also notice, there is no hard drive on this system.  So it’s all floppy driven.

How much did it cost back in 1989?  Closest guess wins.

I will not say whether anyone’s guess is correct or not as we go along.  Just make your best guess and I will reveal all on Friday evening and announce the winner.  Good Luck with this one, it’s kind of fun to look at this.

5 Responses to “Trivial Tuesday”

  1. laura b. said

    Good grief, Charlie Brown. I would have no idea, but am willing to make a wild guess. I guess I will buzz in with $5,000.00

  2. I’m guessing $1,500.00, but have no real clue!

  3. dmarks said

    I am guessing at $500. There were already a whole bunch of hard-disk systems by then, and diskette-only systems were falling by the wayside.

  4. Manuel said

    $832.24. How cool would it be if I was exact!?!?!?

  5. churlita said

    Hmmmm. I remember buying a Mac through the school district in 1995 or 6 for $2500. I’ll say $1750.

Leave a Reply

 
