Swamp Gas & Moonlit Reflections

Now hosted on Squarespace

  • AlienCG

    Email:
    AlienCG (AT) GMail.com
    AlienGC on XBox Live
  • Latest Posts

  • Categories

Signs, Signs, Everywhere the Signs

Posted by AlienCG on June 6, 2009

Welcome to another exciting, super-duper, fantabulous week of the Saturday Scavenger Hunt.  This week’s word, as given to us by our native Iowan, Churlita, is SIGN.  I have plenty of signs today, all from down in Amish country.  I went with Mom and Dad to do a little shopping, sight-seeing and just get my ass out of Cleveland for a little while.  We were in Berlin, Walnut Creek and Sugarcreek buying good, Amish cheese and other good stuff.  I also saw some signs.

This is an old fashioned soda fountain with old signs on the outside.  Here we see a couple old Gulf signs, Texaco, Pepsi, and Coca-Cola.  I didn’t go in, but wish I had now in hindsight.

I saw this sign and had to  go check it out.  They sell salsa, hot sauce and barbecue sauce in there.  I bought a jar of Blue Smoke Salsa and a bottle of  Tobasco Sauce in a pewter cup.  It’s cool.

You know, there’s something about the term “Livestock Auction” that brings a smile to my face.  I’m not sure what it is.  I wonder if Churlita has seen a sign like this before?  She might have, living in Iowa and all.  Thanks for the great word, oh Churlish one, and i look forward to seeing who you tag for next week.  Thanks for visiting, have a good weekend.

8 Responses to “Signs, Signs, Everywhere the Signs”

  1. Manuel said

    Speaking of salsa, I wish my dad would start bottling his. It is SO good and he gets so many requests for it. I know he could sell that stuff!

  2. laura b. said

    What great signs! I love the Berlin Chile Traders sign.

    Livestock Auction makes me think of cattle sitting in rows politely holding up their little paddles, making their bids 🙂

  3. Makes me want to travel.

    I love the soda fountain signs… so many in one shot.

    Nice.

  4. My Saturday Scavenger Hunt post is finally up!

  5. k_sra said

    I miss SugarCreek. USed to go there for little mini family vaca’s as a kid, wander around, eat fudge, stare at the natives. Good times. 🙂 Thanks for the trip down memory lane.

  6. NoRegrets said

    Was Gulf everywhere in the US? I always thought it was only in New England…

  7. Tara said

    “Gifts, Candies, Cards” – That usually attracts me to a shop. I could do so much damage in a shop labeled like that.

  8. churlita said

    Wow. Great sign pics. Good job on this one.

Leave a Reply

 
