Swamp Gas & Moonlit Reflections

Now hosted on Squarespace

  • AlienCG

    Email:
    AlienCG (AT) GMail.com
    AlienGC on XBox Live
  • Latest Posts

  • Categories

All Play and Still No Work

Posted by AlienCG on June 13, 2009

Hello and welcome back for another edition of the Saturday Scavenger Hunt.  This week’s word was chosen by…ummm…oh yeah, me.  I decided to choose the word PLAY.  In all honesty, I did not have any real plans for this word, I just looked at the list and said, “Hmm, nobody chose PLAY, yet.  Maybe I should.”  See?  Isn’t that THE most fascinating thought process you have ever witnessed?  OK, I thought not.

So, what did I do for a picture?  Well, there’s this thing out there called karaoke, which I am not a fan of.  Usually, the music is in the wrong key, played to fast and there is no harmony for part that require it.  What’s the remedy?  Don’t sing karaoke….orrrrrrr….go to a place that has Live Band Karaoke.  Yes, sing with a live band on stage, and I did this past Wednesday night.

I think it’s an awful picture, but here I am PLAYing on stage with a band.  The song I sang was Tom Petty’s “Mary Jane’s Last Dance,” an easy song to get through since singing talent is unnecessary.  I also sang “What I Got” by Sublime, but I came in at the halfway point.

I’m not sure I could have gotten up there had it not been for the fact that I know the bass player (Sammy, pictured on the left).  The whole band is awesome and can usually pick up any song quickly.  There you have it, have a good weekend.

Oh, yeah, I almost forgot, I have to tag somebody….hmmm….how about our resident Elmo torturerNoRegrets?  What say, ye?

6 Responses to “All Play and Still No Work”

  1. Great to see you out playing. Looks like fun. You are a brave soul!

  2. Nice legs!

    Woohoo! Got mine in. http://3girlknight.blogspot.com/2009/06/photohunt-play.html

  3. laura b. said

    Wow…that looks like so much fun! It is a perfect shot of the wild Alien at play. haha! Great job.

  4. Tara said

    Wow, that is admirable. The few times I’ve done karaoke is either in the basement of my old home with some friends or at my brother’s house. I’ve never done it with a live band. “Mary Jane’s Last Dance” is one of my favorite songs. Hope you had fun and got to play!

  5. NoRegrets said

    I only do what Elmo was designed to survive. 🙂
    Where are your castanets?

  6. churlita said

    Awesome! I love that shot. I never would have guessed that you’d karaoke. I’m glad you’re having fun.

Leave a Reply

 
