Swamp Gas & Moonlit Reflections

Now hosted on Squarespace

  • AlienCG

    Email:
    AlienCG (AT) GMail.com
    AlienGC on XBox Live
  • Latest Posts

  • Categories

Alien’s Origins, Conclusion

Posted by AlienCG on June 14, 2009

So, back in March of 2004, I shut down The Game Board out of frustration and pigeon-holing.  This (obviously) wouldn’t be the last the Internet saw of me.  I decided to buy the aliencg.com domain name and start a new web site.  I wanted it to be like my personal playground with no limits on what I write about.  I knew so much more about web development and started in on design for a new site.  The site would be called, Alien’s Planet.  I managed to build a decent little following, I was having fun and I was back online.  But all would not be well for long.  My first web host screwed something up on my site and I was unable to post anything and nobody could leave comments.  I changed hosts and things were going along well.  I even got my brother, Evil-E, in on the blogging thing.  Unfortunately, in August 2008, the last web host I had would drive me over the edge and I would soon cancel my account and my online presence would find itself in flux.

I found myself wondering what I would do.  I did not want to find another hosting company only to be disappointed in the service, but I didn’t want to go through the hell of moving my whole self-made blog over to Blogger or WordPress.  That’s when I made a major decision, I would start over completely.  A blank slate, fresh paint, a new beginning.  But I didn’t want to keep the same name, after all, this was not a continuation.  I started this blog on August 14, 2008 under the non-name, AlienCG’s Unnamed Blog.  The tagline under it read Krypton, Alderraan…Alien’s Planet.  So, I asked my guests to choose the name.  After a week of voting and waiting, the results were tallied and the name emblazoned in the banner is what my faithful followers chose.  Swamp Gas and Moonlit Reflections was born on August 21, 2008 and I have been going strong since.  I would like to thank all of you for your support throughout my blogging life.  I hope you enjoyed my story, and now you can watch the rest of it write itself.

If you would like to read the entire saga from the Intro on:

6 Responses to “Alien’s Origins, Conclusion”

  1. I enjoy hearing people’s stories more than anything else I find on line. Not to turn my nose down on great information, etc. which I enjoy as well. It is interesting to see how you got here, what your initial objectives were and how it has evolved. Thanks for sharing that. Cool that you had your readers choose the name!

  2. AlienCG said

    Ananda Girl reminded me that I should also link to vote results page at Random Crap. We see just how close the vote was to name this site.

  3. I had to go have a look… of course! I liked the number 2 selection… signs of intelligent life too. I can see why it was so close. But you know, I just love the name “Random Crap” ! Maybe because my life is so full of it. lol.

  4. AlienCG said

    Random Crap is/was my brother, Evil-E’s, blog. Unfortunately, he has fallen of the face of the blogging earth. He is the originator of the Saturday Scavenger Hunt.

  5. laura b. said

    It really was interesting hearing your online evolution from start to…not finish, because as you say, from here on out we watch it write itself. Very cool. Now what are you going to tell us about?

  6. churlita said

    Hey, I was even around for part of this history. Great story.

Leave a Reply

 
