Swamp Gas & Moonlit Reflections

Now hosted on Squarespace

  • AlienCG

    Email:
    AlienCG (AT) GMail.com
    AlienGC on XBox Live
  • Latest Posts

  • Categories

Gardening With the Alien, Week #14

Posted by AlienCG on June 15, 2009

This week, I am making a comparison.  I want to see how much my Chinese vegetable garden has grown in two weeks.  For those of you newer folks, my old boss (and still friend) gave me a bunch of seeds that he brought back from Taiwan.  I planted some early on while the garden was indoors, but the rest of the seeds were planted in a well perforated kiddie pool in the back yard (separate from the rest of the garden).  Here is what it looked like two weeks ago:

and here is what it looks like today:

That is some pretty good growth over only two weeks.  I also learned (somewhat) what the vegetables are.  To the left, I already new that’s Bok Choy.  At the top is a leaf lettuce that has a slightly bitter aftertaste (it’s quite good).  At the bottom is another leaf vegetable which is purple and green that I haven’t tried yet.  To the right is a vegetable that apparently translates to “hollow stem.”  I will learn how to pick it and cook it up soon.  I am looking forward to the cooking  lesson.  Thanks for stopping by and have a good day.

4 Responses to “Gardening With the Alien, Week #14”

  1. I really like these Gardening posts Alien. Glad I can live vicariously through them. 🙂

  2. I like the way you divided your pools into pie shapes. It’s a very attractive look for a garden. They are starting to look yummy! And how fun is that to grow seeds from another country! I hope you have a good day too, thanks.

  3. churlita said

    At least the mystery is partially solved. I’ve never cooked with bok choy before. I’ll be interested to see what you make with it.

  4. laura b. said

    The amount of growth is unbelievable! There is something very rewarding about seeing a big change like that.

    Yeah, I can’t wait to hear about what you cook up, too.

Leave a Reply

 
