Swamp Gas & Moonlit Reflections

Now hosted on Squarespace

  • AlienCG

    Email:
    AlienCG (AT) GMail.com
    AlienGC on XBox Live
  • Latest Posts

  • Categories

Party Like it’s 1989

Posted by AlienCG on June 16, 2009

Please look below for previous posts including Gardening with the Alien.

Once again, my mind is at work formulating another week to celebrate and I may have come up with a totally radical idea.  This coming Monday will begin a week-long celebration off that memorable decade that many strive to forget…the 1980’s.  I have already done a couple Trivial Tuesdays regarding technology of the decade, now it’s time to go all out.  An entire week of technology, music, televison, movies and celebrities from this decade.

Feel free to join in and share some of your favorite aspects of the 80’s.  Many of you may be wondering why I want to celebrate.  Well, simple answer, why not?  There was a lot of stuff, both good and awful, not to ignore.  Starting Monday, June 22 and going through Sunday, June 28, pull out the neon shoelaces, your favorite Knack hits and do your hair up in a Flock of Seagulls style.  Let’s have fun.

4 Responses to “Party Like it’s 1989”

  1. Fun stuffs! I’ll be there with my padded shoulders!

  2. laura b. said

    I’m so there. I might be able to score wine coolers. And I better get out my leg warmers…I’m gonna need them for this…

  3. dmarks said

    I love the song “Mexican Radio”

    As for a Flock of Seagulls, one of my favorite jokes from the Austin Powers movies is where they are discussing time travel, and jumping back and forth between the 60s and 90s. Someone asks if it is worth seeing the 70s and 80s. Austin Powers says no, all there is is an energy shortage and a Flock of Seagulls.

    Ananda: Now let us hear you sing like Laura Brannigan.

  4. churlita said

    Awesome. I had WAY too much fun in the 80’s. We’ll have to see if it’s just as much fun the 2nd time around.

Leave a Reply

 
