Swamp Gas & Moonlit Reflections

Now hosted on Squarespace

  • AlienCG

    Email:
    AlienCG (AT) GMail.com
    AlienGC on XBox Live
  • Latest Posts

  • Categories

The Epitomy of Quixotic

Posted by AlienCG on June 20, 2009

Hello and welcome to another thrilling week of the Saturday Scavenger Hunt.  This week’s word, as chosen by NoRegrets, is the $5 doozy, Quixotic.  I thought long and hard about this word and could not figure out a thing to post.  Then I look at the etymology of the word and a lightbulb (an environmentally friendly lightbulb) went off in my head.  I had to call Mom to see if it still existed….it did.  So I took my camera, went to the parents’ house, took a couple pictures, ate dinner, sat and talked, drove home, took a shower, typed up this post, sched…oh, crap, I got off track.  Anyway, the title says it all….

This would be an old woodcut figure of, you guessed it, Don Quixote.  I remember seeing this figure my entire life since it was a part of my parents’ Spanish style decor.

Here’s a closeup of the head.  It’s been painted, it is wood and it is Don Quixote, which happen to be the origin of this week’s word.  I’m glad I came up with something.  Thanks, NoRegrets, for an excellent choice of word, it was definitely a stumper.  Stay tuned to find who she tags.

9 Responses to “The Epitomy of Quixotic”

  1. Well done sir! It was a very hard word.

  2. dmarks said

    He looks pretty tall.
    Click here for my take on it.

  3. babybull40 said

    Hey.. just popping in.. hey to everyone.. good word btw.. love your take on it..

  4. laura b. said

    That is beautiful, I love it. And what a perfect find for this week’s word!

  5. NoRegrets said

    That’s a beautiful statue… and you got a free meal too!

  6. Very nice!

    Sorry I didn’t participate this week.

  7. AlienCG said

    3GirlKnight: You can still post your pictures anytime. Also, you’ve been tagged to pick next week’s word. So, go ahead and pick one.

  8. Tara said

    I like that statue! Great use of the challenging word.

  9. churlita said

    So very Quixotic. Perfect for the word.

Leave a Reply

 
