Swamp Gas & Moonlit Reflections

Now hosted on Squarespace

  • AlienCG

    Email:
    AlienCG (AT) GMail.com
    AlienGC on XBox Live
  • Latest Posts

  • Categories

My Musical Memories, Intro

Posted by AlienCG on June 21, 2009

I am now dedicating my Sunday post to my music collection. Not just reviewing an album or artist, but looking at why I like this particular music selection or what it means to me. I have a CD and digital music collection that I have mused upon as schizophrenic. I am not a fan of music by genre, but by of music itself. I have Johnny Cash and George Strait to Slayer and Metallica to Dropkick Murphys and The Sex Pistols to Elvis and The Beatles. How did I get like this? That answer requires a little trip back in time to my earliest memories.
I was not born into a musically talented family, but they do enjoy their music. I was born in 1973 and was very young when I was exposed to the music of Creedence Clearwater Revival, Elvis Presley, The Beatles, Jim Croce and, most importantly to me, Pink Floyd. My dad has always been into the music of the 50’s and 60’s, the early days of rock ‘n’ roll and Motown. Mom was into what was current, The Eagles, Led Zeppelin, Bad Company and everything else that was coming out during the mid-70’s. I liked it all, still do. Of course, then there was my brother’s and my own taste in music, and we liked Kiss. Kiss was the greatest and only band during my early days. I got Paul Stanley and Peter Criss solo albums, Evil-E got Gene Simmons and Ace Frehley. Life was good, but it was about to get better.
Entering the 80’s, my musical taste was still pretty limited, but my brother would turn me on to some truly great music such as Black Sabbath, Ozzy Osbourne, Judas Priest and Iron Maiden. These hard rock and heavy metal gods were great, but by 1986, I was listening to something totally new and different, a band called Metallica. Introduced to me by my brother, Metallica was heavy, fast and just plain fun to listen to. Ride the Lightning was the first album I bought by them. I was criticized for listening to them by my classmates who thought they were completely awful, but I will guarantee most are fans today. There is one album, though, that would change me forever and set into motion all of this that you are about to read.
I recall it was a boring night in 1985, I needed some good music to listen to, but I wasn’t sure what. I didn’t own what I wanted to listen to, so I asked mom if I could look through her record collection. She was fine with it and I started looking through the many crates of albums she had. Hmmm, this unfamiliar album looks interesting, but what’s this, only six songs and the second side is one of those songs. I took that album upstairs to my room, put in on the turn table on side one and from that moment on I was a Pink Floyd fan for life. That album, contrary to popular belief, was not Dark Side of the Moon, their 1971 opus, Meddle. Side two contained the 23+ minute song, “Echoes.” I was in love with this album and Mom knew it. She let me keep it. I wanted to hear more, Dark Side of the Moon, Wish You Were Here, Animals, The Wall, the list goes on. I would venture back to their earliest days and listen to the Barrett years. Yes, Pink Floyd was definitely my favorite band, but there is always more to discover.
The 1990’s started off pretty uneventful, but of course, musically, things were about to get way more interesting. Evil-E, once again, would introduce me to another band that I wanted to hear more of, Faith No More. He had bought the cassette of The Real Thing, the album that would give up “Epic.” This was also the time that a new kind of music emerged on the scene and I was there to hear it. This trio out of Seattle, WA known as Nirvana were playing this peculiar, heavily distorted music that sounded oddly good to me. There was a simple genius to it and I wanted to hear more. I bought Nevermind and it was good. Many other bands would come out, but for some reason my appreciation for them would take a few years to realize. Bands like Pearl Jam, Alice in Chains and Soundgarden to name a few I would not discover until many years later. An unfortunate turn in the music world would provide me with a chance to explore.
After the alternative and grunge movement became watered down and safe, I found myself growing bored with the current scene. But little seeds were planting themselves in the way of some older performers. Eric Clapton was playing older traditional blues music. I was starting to look backwards for musical inspiration and the old blues of the 1940’s was calling to me. I started adding more music to my repertoire like Muddy Waters, Al King, Etta James, John Lee Hooker and many others. I’ve been listening to all of it, enjoying it all, and finding more.
I didn’t even touch on Evil-E’s influence on me regarding punk and the even heavier metal that I like today. There is so much music that I enjoy listening to and that is the purpose of this series coming up every Sunday. What’s in my music collection and why is it there? Please join me starting next Sunday for an in-depth look at my musical taste.

I am now dedicating my Sunday post to my music collection. Not just reviewing an album or artist, but looking at why I like this particular music selection or what it means to me. I have a CD and digital music collection that I have mused upon as schizophrenic. I am not a fan of music by genre, but by of music itself. I have Johnny Cash and George Strait to Slayer and Metallica to Dropkick Murphys and The Sex Pistols to Elvis and The Beatles. How did I get like this? That answer requires a little trip back in time to my earliest memories.

I was not born into a musically talented family, but they do enjoy their music. I was born in 1973 and was very young when I was exposed to the music of Creedence Clearwater Revival, Elvis Presley, The Beatles, Jim Croce and, most importantly to me, Pink Floyd. My dad has always been into the music of the 50’s and 60’s, the early days of rock ‘n’ roll and Motown. Mom was into what was current, The Eagles, Led Zeppelin, Bad Company and everything else that was coming out during the mid-70’s. I liked it all, still do. Of course, then there was my brother’s and my own taste in music, and we liked Kiss. Kiss was the greatest and only band during my early days. I got Paul Stanley and Peter Criss solo albums, Evil-E got Gene Simmons and Ace Frehley. Life was good, but it was about to get better.

Entering the 80’s, my musical taste was still pretty limited, but my brother would turn me on to some truly great music such as Black Sabbath, Ozzy Osbourne, Judas Priest and Iron Maiden. These hard rock and heavy metal gods were great, but by 1986, I was listening to something totally new and different, a band called Metallica. Introduced to me by my brother, Metallica was heavy, fast and just plain fun to listen to. Ride the Lightning was the first album I bought by them. I was criticized for listening to them by my classmates who thought they were completely awful, but I will guarantee most are fans today. There is one album, though, that would change me forever and set into motion all of this that you are about to read.

I recall it was a boring night in 1985, I needed some good music to listen to, but I wasn’t sure what. I didn’t own what I wanted to listen to, so I asked mom if I could look through her record collection. She was fine with it and I started looking through the many crates of albums she had. Hmmm, this unfamiliar album looks interesting, but what’s this, only six songs and the second side is one of those songs. I took that album upstairs to my room, put in on the turn table on side one and from that moment on I was a Pink Floyd fan for life. That album, contrary to popular belief, was not Dark Side of the Moon, their 1971 opus, Meddle. Side two contained the 23+ minute song, “Echoes.” I was in love with this album and Mom knew it. She let me keep it. I wanted to hear more, Dark Side of the Moon, Wish You Were Here, Animals, The Wall, the list goes on. I would venture back to their earliest days and listen to the Barrett years. Yes, Pink Floyd was definitely my favorite band, but there is always more to discover.

The 1990’s started off pretty uneventful, but of course, musically, things were about to get way more interesting. Evil-E, once again, would introduce me to another band that I wanted to hear more of, Faith No More. He had bought the cassette of The Real Thing, the album that would give up “Epic.” This was also the time that a new kind of music emerged on the scene and I was there to hear it. This trio out of Seattle, WA known as Nirvana were playing this peculiar, heavily distorted music that sounded oddly good to me. There was a simple genius to it and I wanted to hear more. I bought Nevermind and it was good. Many other bands would come out, but for some reason my appreciation for them would take a few years to realize. Bands like Pearl Jam, Alice in Chains and Soundgarden to name a few I would not discover until many years later. An unfortunate turn in the music world would provide me with a chance to explore.

After the alternative and grunge movement became watered down and safe, I found myself growing bored with the current scene. But little seeds were planting themselves in the way of some older performers. Eric Clapton was playing older traditional blues music. I was starting to look backwards for musical inspiration and the old blues of the 1940’s was calling to me. I started adding more music to my repertoire like Muddy Waters, Al King, Etta James, John Lee Hooker and many others. I’ve been listening to all of it, enjoying it all, and finding more.

I didn’t even touch on Evil-E’s influence on me regarding punk and the even heavier metal that I like today. There is so much music that I enjoy listening to and that is the purpose of this series coming up every Sunday. What’s in my music collection and why is it there? Please join me starting next Sunday for an in-depth look at my musical taste.

5 Responses to “My Musical Memories, Intro”

  1. babybull40 said

    I too was influenced by the music my parents listened to growing up.. Then my brothers taste got me hooked listening to Pink Floyd and Kiss and many others.. I am not a huge fan of heavy metal but will listen to the older stuff like AC/DC and Black Sabbath.. Nowadays I enjoy listening to classic rock sounds of Queen and Rush and Eric Clapton ,Beatles and The Who … I look forward to seeing what you come up on a weekly basis…

  2. My siblings also played a big part in my musical taste, though differently. When my brother got an album he did not like, he gave it to me. That was Disraeli Gears by Cream. It was my first album I personally owned (except for one Johnny Cash album my dad gave me). It opened up my eyes to psychedelic rock and altered me forever. My sister gave me Led Zeppelin III, also an album that was discarded. Can you imagine that? Needless to say, neither has much musical taste!

    I’m going to enjoy this series very much aliencg! Great stuffs here.

  3. dmarks said

    I’ve not heard Meddle yet. I did not inherit my dad’s great love of country music. But oddly enough, I think I like Johnny Cash’s music more than he ever did.

  4. laura b. said

    I am very interested in the idea of types of music coming into our lives at specific times for specific reasons. I can’t wait to share in your musical journey!

  5. churlita said

    Very interesting post about your musical tastes. I love almost everything.

Leave a Reply

 
