Swamp Gas & Moonlit Reflections

Now hosted on Squarespace

  • AlienCG

    Email:
    AlienCG (AT) GMail.com
    AlienGC on XBox Live
  • Latest Posts

  • Categories

Entertained in the 80’s

Posted by AlienCG on June 25, 2009

Be sure to check out the previous post for a new trivia question

I was a bit young in the 80’s to don my checkered tie and hot pink shoelaces and go out to any number of the local dance clubs playing the latest hits by Kim Wilde and Flock of Seagulls.  Instead, I had to entertain myself at home with TV, music on record and cassette and movie on video disc.  I know what you’re going to say next and I can assure I did not make a typo. This is a video disc exactly like the one we had when I was young.  The video disc was an analog format similar to the vinyl album.  The movies came in 12″ sleeves that you slid into the opening at the front and the disc and holder would hold in while the sleeve came out.  It was a pretty cool technology that my dad won from a radio station.  Of course, the movies weren’t the most convenient things to store as they were even bigger than albums because of the spare room needed for the holder.  It ended up going obsolete before the decade was up and dad finally broke down and bought a video cassette player.  Of course I saw a lot of movies on that video disc player.

There were plenty of movies that ran through the video disc player, including such favorites as Footloose, The Breakfast Club, Pretty in Pink, St. Elmo’s Fire (and many more movies featuring the Brat Pack) and of course, The Karate Kid.  No, I’m not doing a review on The Karate Kid, but what 80’s post would be complete without that iconic cover with the famous crane kick?  You know which one would be complete?  None, none at all.  So there it is.  We rented movies every weekend and it was a special occasion.  We usually had chips and dip, soda pop and I was allowed to stay up late (I was a youngster with a bed time at this time).  Of course, I was entertained by more than just movies during the 80’s, the TV offered up some of the most entertaining programming.

Television of the 80’s was a spectacle to behold.  There were so many great shows (great as in, I thought they were great when I was 10 years old, but would probably fall over laughing if I watched them today) such as Knight Rider (starring The Hoff, sorry, no picture), Night Court, Cheers, Miami Vice and, naturally, The A-Team.  Again, I am not reviewing this show, I just figured no 80’s post would be complete without Mr. T’s happy face.  It’s shows like these that bring back those fond memories of being watched by grandpa on Tuesday nights while my parents escaped my brother and I went out for the evening.  They don’t make shows like these anymore, full of frivolous violence and slapstick humor.  Of course, regarding the former, was The A-Team really that violent? I mean, for these guys being special ops, they couldn’t hit the broad side of a barn with an M-16.  Sorry, where was I?  Oh yeah, I loved 80’s TV when I was a kid. It was such fun.

When I wasn’t watching TV, I was playing on it with my beloved Nintendo Entertainment System.  My brother and I each owned one so that we wouldn’t fight.  Of course, get us together playing Blades of Steel and you never know what would happen.  Between us, we owned a whole pile of games.  I was more of the platform gamer with favorites such as the Mario series, and I also liked role-playing and adventure games such as Final Fantasy and Legend of Zelda.  I loved playing my NES, beating Super Mario Bros. for the first time, playing a really cool game called Baseball Stars (SNK) for hours on end trying to build the ultimate baseball team.  By the way, Manuel, can you tell me what Up, Up, Down, Down, Left, Right, Left, Right, B, A, Start is?

There is one thing I must mention because it is so important.  One of the greatest things to come out of the 80’s, The People’s Court’s own Doug Llewellyn.  I mean, if his hair doesn’t scream 80’s, I don’t know what does.  I swear, when this week is over and done with I will still think about creating the Doug Llewellyn fan club.  Everybody thought that Judge Wapner was the star of that show, I know better.

I hope you enjoyed this fun-filled entertaining look back into my younger days as much as I enjoyed bringing it to you.  I am really enjoying 80’s week, and I hope you are too.  I’m still not sure what Friday will hold for me, but if there’s anything you would like me to write about regarding the 80’s let me know, I always enjoy suggestions.  By the way, no, I don’t do fashion.  Have a good day.

5 Responses to “Entertained in the 80’s”

  1. Manuel said

    The Konami Code! I used to have a shirt that had that on there!

    I can’t say I remember the video disc player. Was that before Beta and VHS?

    A-Team rocked….I fear for the movie they are making though.

    Movies in the 80s were so great. They really don’t make them as cheezy and innocent as they used to…

    Great post!

  2. laura b. said

    haha! You knew Manuel would know that! What a great post…brought back many happy memories of a time both simplier and, well, flashier, lets say.
    If you decide to go ahead with that Doug Llewellyn fan club, be sure to count me in. I can’t really think of anyone more deserving.

  3. churlita said

    My aunt and uncle still have their video disc player in a closet somewhere. What else can you do with them now?

  4. dmarks said

    That wasn’t a laser disc player, was it?

  5. babybull40 said

    That was a total blast from the past.. old People’s Court and The A Team.. Awesome..

Leave a Reply

 
