Swamp Gas & Moonlit Reflections

Now hosted on Squarespace

  • AlienCG

    Email:
    AlienCG (AT) GMail.com
    AlienGC on XBox Live
  • Latest Posts

  • Categories

My Musical Memories, #1

Posted by AlienCG on June 28, 2009

Welcome to the first official week of my new music feature.  As I wrote last week, music has always been present in my life.  My primary exposure to music came from Mom early in my life.  I remember hearing a song on the radio that was so infectious, so fun, that I felt like I had to hear more of it.  Mom let me borrow her album with that song and I was hooked.  No, it wasn’t Pink Floyd.

The Police
Ghost in the Machine
1981

Back in my youth I didn’t understand the concept of political lyrics, I just enjoyed the music I was listening to.  Ghost in the Machine features many great songs including the hypnotic “Spirits in the Material World,” the darkly themed “Invisible Sun,” and the first song I heard, “Every Little Thing She Does is Magic.”  I dare everybody reading to put that song on and not dance in their chair.  That song is definitely infectious.  The rest of the album, including “Hungry for You,” sung mostly in French, “Ωmegaman,” written by Andy Summers and “Too Much Information,” which is still relevant today, make this album what it is, perfect, in my opinion.

I do have to confess, I have denied this album its deserved recognition, but I think I made up for it this weekend.  In order to prepare to write this post, I listened to the album again.  At first, I was listening to the songs on my iPod.   Then I decided to listen to it as I originally heard it, on vinyl.  The copy I have is the same one I borrowed from Mom all those years ago (she gave it to me).  It’s still in great shape and sounds excellent.

This was the album that turned me on to The Police.  I wanted to hear the other albums, I bought Outlandos d’Amour, Reggatta de Blanc and Zenyattà Mondatta.  All of these albums are excellent, but I kept returning to the album that started it all.  That is until the next album, Synchronicity, came out.  This was the primary reason why I put Ghost on the back burner, but thanks to the CD and the 4-Disc set, Message in a Box, I was reacquainted with this superb album.

In case you might be wondering about the cover and don’t already know, the LEDs are representative of the head of each band member.  I hope you enjoyed this first post in what I hope will be a long-running feature here in the Swamp.  Have a good rest of the weekend.

5 Responses to “My Musical Memories, #1”

  1. An excellent choice! I can see why you got infected. In fact, I think I’ll go listen to some now. Thanks for the reminder.

    Ooooohhh… you have a turntable and stereo I’m guessing. Cool beans. I do too! I think that vinyl sounds so much better, but hardly ever use it anymore. I don’t have much on vinyl these days.

  2. laura b. said

    Ghosts in the Machine is a great album. I can see why discovering it would be a strong musical memory. There isn’t a song on it I don’t care for. I’ve always particularly like Rehumanize Yourself. Nice post, Alien.

  3. Tara said

    I was exposed to songs from Kenny Rogers, Neil Diamond, The Everly Brothers and the Oakridge Boys – my mom listened to all of those, plus some musicals like “Fiddler on the Roof”.

    The Police made some great tunes, I love “Spirits in the Material World”.

  4. babybull40 said

    I don’t believe I have heard that one.. I will have to check it out.. I do like “The Police”..

  5. churlita said

    I heard Outlandos D’Amor when it first came out on the radio, and was hooked on The Police ever since. I actually saw them on their Synchronicity Tour. Awesome show.

Leave a Reply

 
