Swamp Gas & Moonlit Reflections

Now hosted on Squarespace

  • AlienCG

    Email:
    AlienCG (AT) GMail.com
    AlienGC on XBox Live
  • Latest Posts

  • Categories

We’re Not the World

Posted by AlienCG on June 28, 2009

Last Wednesday, I asked a simple question, list all of the performers on USA for Africa’s, “We Are the World.” Well, only two people guessed any of them correctly. I was hoping it would run on for a while with people coming with new guesses. Laura B. got 14 of them, Manuel got 7. There were still 17 to guess at and nobody tried. Ladies and gentlemen, if I have a list like that, guess and guess and guess until I finally say we’re done.  The only hint I gave during guessing was that Laura B. cleared the Jacksons, but there were more to guess.  17 pop stars of the 1980’s were left unguessed.

Al Jarreau
Bette Midler
Billy Joel
Bob Dylan Manuel
Bob Geldof Laura B.
Bruce Springsteen Manuel
Cyndi Lauper Laura B.
Dan Aykroyd Laura B.
Daryl Hall Manuel
Diana Ross Laura B.
Dionne Warwick
Harry Belafonte
Huey Lewis Manuel
Jackie Jackson Laura B.
James Ingram
Jeffrey Osborne
John Oates Manuel
Kenny Loggins
Kenny Rogers Manuel
Kim Carnes
LaToya Jackson Laura B.
Lindsey Buckingham
Lionel Richie Laura B.
Marlon Jackson Laura B.
Michael Jackson Laura B.
Paul Simon
Randy Jackson Laura B.
Ray Charles
Sheila E.
Smokey Robinson
Steve Perry
Stevie Wonder Laura B.
The News
The Pointer Sisters Laura B.
Tina Turner Manuel
Tito Jackson Laura B.
Waylon Jennings
Willie Nelson

The answers in red are the ones that were not guessed.  Manuel, you could have had one more had you simply completed an answer.  The News (Huey Lewis’ band) is listed on the sleeve.  So now you know, keep guessing until I say the contest is over.  Oh well, I tried, have a good day.

4 Responses to “We’re Not the World”

  1. laura b. said

    Aw, man! I cannot believe the people I missed. Still, ahem… yay me! Darn….ouch. Hurt my arm patting myself on the back…

  2. Oh dear I didn’t even guess one correctly. Yikes! I could have told you who was at the Concert for Bangladesh! Or some of the ones at Bandaid.

    I wonder where my head was at this time. I’m usually pretty good with stuff like that.
    Well, crap. It was fun anyway.

  3. Manuel said

    Damn, there are some really big names I missed! Crap!

  4. i remember ray charles very clearly in the video. other than that i would bat about 500 on this deal.

Leave a Reply

 
