Swamp Gas & Moonlit Reflections

Now hosted on Squarespace

  • AlienCG

    Email:
    AlienCG (AT) GMail.com
    AlienGC on XBox Live
  • Latest Posts

  • Categories

Focus-Free Friday

Posted by AlienCG on July 10, 2009

It’s been a while since I’ve downloaded my brain to my blog.  There’s a lot up there to empty out, so let’s get started.

First of all, the answer to the Trivial Tuesday question was Cpt. Eugene Cernan.  It was not Michael Jackson.

If you noticed, I mentioned nothing of the deaths a couple weeks ago.  I did make dedication on my blog to one of them, my tag line (below the title) is in honor of Billy Mays.

I’m a watcher of Discovery and History Channels, and this trend of “extreme jobs” shows is making me laugh.  There are way too many and they keep getting more extreme, like “Ice Loggers.”  I guess “Swamp Loggers” isn’t extreme enough.

My laptop is in for service for the third time.  I sent it in a couple weeks ago to have a keyboard problem fixed, but all they did was restore the original system configuration.  That meant erasing and reloading my hard drive.  This did nothing for the keyboard, but it cleaned up my hard drive (both the C and D drives).  I told them I wanted it sent back at their expense, overnight, since I had been without my laptop for 8 days prior.  They paid for shipping, FedEx ground, so I will be without it all this week and into next week.  This sucks.

I’m still unemployed.

I was playing with Ubuntu Linux on my computer (you can try it out on a CD) and am now thinking about killing my desktop Windows installation to go Linux.  Everything I use on my laptop is free or open-source except for the operating system (I won’t kill the laptop Windows install at the moment).

Oh yeah, and about my post on router set-up for dmarks.  I didn’t want to throw too much extraneous information out there.  I wanted to focus on security and was going about it from the point of view of people who currectly have wireless routers.  I am currently using 802.11g which suits my needs.  My advice is, if you’re gonna buy a router and the N is the same price as the G, buy the N.

Next week, I am going to talk about something a little lighter, A look at free e-mail accounts and how they’ve evolved.  It’s not really going to be a huge expose or anything like that.  Just a comparison between then and now.

Anything you want me talk about?  I love getting suggestions and responding to them.

That’s it, my memory is dumped.  I have to that every so often or my head tends to explode.  Have a good day and weekend.

4 Responses to “Focus-Free Friday”

  1. laura b. said

    -Eugene Cernan! Thank you, I never would have gotten that.

    -I think Billy Mays death shocked and affected me the most. I have tivo’d the Pitchman episode commemorating him.

    -Extreme is like the new black. It just has to be extreme or why bother? 🙂

    -I’m jealous you have a laptop, but hope if I get one it is better behaved! You must hate having to keep shipping it back and forth…

    There…now my head won’t explode either. Yay!

    -Not for much longer, I’m sure.

    -My son went completely open-source on his home computer and he loves it.

    -Routers…the only thing I know about N and G is that together they spell my best friend’s last name! 🙂

    -I remember when it was cheesy to have free email. Now…why would you pay? I lurve my gmail. I will look forward to your post on this!

    -I can’t think of any suggestions at the moment. Your posts have been so full of techy goodness lately that anything I could posit would just be gilding the lily, so to speak….

  2. I knew I didn’t have the astronaut who walked last on the moon. Funny… I don’t even recall Cernan. But you know… you get old and things fall out.

    I too felt bad about Billy Mays. He was not my favorite person, but that was sad.

    Television drives me nuts. I hardly watch it anymore!

    Good luck job hunting!

  3. NoRegrets said

    So sorry you are still unemployed. That sucks.
    I know someone who is completely unix… he loves it.

  4. churlita said

    Sorry to hear about your laptop. I hope it gets fixed once and for all. That kind of stuff drives me crazy.

Leave a Reply

 
