Swamp Gas & Moonlit Reflections

Now hosted on Squarespace

  • AlienCG

    Email:
    AlienCG (AT) GMail.com
    AlienGC on XBox Live
  • Latest Posts

  • Categories

My Musical Memories, #4

Posted by AlienCG on July 19, 2009

This is my 300th post on this blog

Last week I introduced many of you to Type O Negative as it was introduced to me on the way to the Duct Tape Festival.  My brother, being inspired by many of the people in attendence, introduced me to something else new on the way home.  Yes, there appears to be some stereotyping going on, but hey, the music is good stuff.

Nine Pound Hammer
Hayseed Timebomb
1994

The Evil one and I were headed home from the festival, but the going was slow.  We watched the usual fair-people walking by along with all the carnies and it inspired him to put this disc in the player.  I was introduced to the sounds of a punk band….from Kentucky.  The sound was familiar, but different in a way.  Here’s a three-chord punk band with a definite southern accent.  This is a fun CD.

It’s a fast-paced, fun CD with a lot of great music.  Songs like, “Skin a Buck,” “Run, Fatboy, Run,” “Outta the Way Pigf*ckers,” a few more.  There are also a couple covers of the classics, “Wreck of the Old 97” and “Adios, Farewell and Goodbye.”  I am definitely giving this a recommendation for any punk fans out there, and especially for Ananda Girl.  Everytime I listen to this one, I think back to the Avon Lake Duct Tape festival.

Ah, the memories.  Unfortunately, the CD has been discontinued and can only be found through Marketplace sellers or eBay.  It isn’t impossible to get it, you just have to know where to look.  Next week, I have no idea what I’m posting yet, but it’s sure to be good.  Have a good Sunday.

4 Responses to “My Musical Memories, #4”

  1. Oh my gosh… I do not know these fellows, but judging from the titles alone, it’s a must have! And a punk band with a twang! Who could resist such a delight! Not me. Sounds like gran fun, aliencg. I’m so glad you shared it. Thanks!

  2. laura b. said

    Sounds…interesting. I like interesting music 🙂 I will have to hunt them down and at least have a little listen to get an idea. Always fun to hear about stuff that is new to me. Thanks.

  3. laura b. said

    Oh! And congrats on you 300th post! Can’t wait to read the next 300.

  4. churlita said

    I’ve never heard of them. I’ll have to see if I can find some of their stuff. I have friends who seem to have everything.

Leave a Reply

 
