Swamp Gas & Moonlit Reflections

Now hosted on Squarespace

  • AlienCG

    Email:
    AlienCG (AT) GMail.com
    AlienGC on XBox Live
  • Latest Posts

  • Categories

Trivial Tuesday

Posted by AlienCG on July 21, 2009

I have decided to not go with a space program themed question this week.  Instead, this question came to me while listening to Security Now! on the TWiT network.

During a conversation on encryption algorithms, it was mentioned that this communication system was created in the 1840’s by counting the number of  letter dies, from a printing press,  used for a standard newspaper page.  What system am I referring to?

This is another question that will either be answered quickly or will go unanswered.  I hope it’s somewhere in between, but that’s just my optimism.  Have a good day and good luck.

9 Responses to “Trivial Tuesday”

  1. laura b. said

    I can’t wait to find out the answer! Good question, Alien. I’m sure someone will know 🙂

  2. I’m going to make a wild guess and answer with “the telegraph system.”….for 300.

  3. AlienCG said

    I cannot accept that answer, 3GK. Keep trying folks.

  4. churlita said

    I was going to guess telegraph too.

  5. AlienCG said

    You’re all thinking of “system” in the wrong way.

  6. All I can think of is Morse Code. Or maybe something to do with radio, but I don’t know what system that might be. Hummmmmm…. Well I guess I’ll stick with Morse Code.

  7. AlienCG said

    Ananda Girl is correct. The answer is Morse Code. I have a small post about the answer ready for Friday. Good job, AG.

  8. 3GirlKnight said

    Awww The telegraph used Morse Code…I was kinda close.

  9. NoRegrets said

    Damn, I was going to guess morse code. but I thought it had to have been around longer than that.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
